Today is the first day of LGBT History Month 2012 and Roberta Achtenberg is the first of 30 icons. Achtenberg is the first openly LGBT Commissioner at the United States Commission on Civil Rights. To learn more about Achtenberg, watch the video below. Each day the story of a new LGBT icon will appear in the video below so don’t forget to return to this post once a day throughout October!

LGBT History Month was officially recognized by the federal government in 2010 and is a time to take 31 days to celebrate the contributions of persons past and present who have helped change history.

In addition to the videos, you may also download resources that go into greater detail about each icon.

Watch the LGBT History Month Video

2012 Icons

1. Roberta Achtenberg
2. Gloria Anzaldua
3. Ann Bannon
4. Katharine Lee Bates
5. Mary Bonauto
6. Glenn Burke
7. Paul Cadmus
8. Truman Capote
9. Chris Colfer
10. Kate Clinton
11. Ramon Cortines
12. Marlene Dietrich
13. Jodie Foster
14. Jean Paul Gaultier
15. Henry Gerber
16. Billy Haines
17. Mary Kay Henry
18. Chris Hughes
19. Christine Jorgensen
20. Arthur Laurents
21. Don Lemon
22. Federico Garcia Lorca
23. Irshad Manji
24. Katherine Miller
25. Holly Near
26. RuPaul
27. Pierre Seel
28. Billy Strayhorn
29. Jon Stryker
30. Tom Waddell
31. Rev. Robert Wood